The school was established in 1908 by the French with the name Lycée du Protectorat for the purpose of training personnel for the ruling apparatus of France in Northern Vietnam. In addition, it was known as Buoi School or Chu school.
The different names of Chu Van An high school
Hanoi people often call it Buoi School because it was located in Ke Buoi area. Not only that, the name “Buoi School” is also how students express their patriotism in the French colonial period. In 1945, it was renamed national high school of Chu Van An and that name has been maintained until now.
This school is known as abeautiful school bearing the hallmark of the French. Octagonal Building is the most outstanding structure in Chu Van An School. The structure used to be Schneider Villa (La villa Schneider), named after the host of the villa Henri Schneider, a French owner of a paper shop. There was a time the building was unoccupied and seriously damaged. In 1999, with the financial aid from le-de-France region in France, the Octagonal Building was repaired and used as school library. Nowadays, this building is an impressive architectural structure on the side of West Lake.